What are the differences between Vedic and Western Astrology?

by Am Dee
What are the differences between Vedic and Western Astrology?

Vedic astrology (in Sanskrit called jottish) is a branch of the Vedas, more precisely the eyes of the Vedas, an ancient philosophy. It can certainly have something very old, common root with the so-called Western astrology, as it uses the same 12 zodiacal signs and 12 astrological houses, and there are many similarities in its approach and interpretation.

In the following, I present the basics of Indian astrology through the most important differences from Western astrology, which is much more common and well-known than ours, and then through the special tools of jottish.

Differences between Western and Vedic astrology

1. Different zodiac and timing

The most spectacular difference is that the two astrological systems use different animal belts: the European is the so-called tropical system, the Indian the sidereal system. Without delving into astronomical mysteries, the difference can be summed up in that the European (tropical) system as a solar astrology follows the motion of the Sun and detaches itself from the physical stars, while the Indian (sidereal) is fixed to the real constellations.

According to the best vastu consultant in Ludiana, the difference between the two systems (this is called the time of the day) is today approx. 24 degrees, which is otherwise found exactly in the ephemeris for every calendar day. Today, each element of the Vedic formula is so far behind that of the West. The consequence of this is that in Indians, the majority of the ascendant and the planets are placed differently from the Western horoscope.

2. Moon-based astrology

The other big difference is that the Indian system, unlike the West, is not Sun-based but Moon-based, i.e. lunar astrology, which sees the Moon as the carrier of the emotional past as the basis of destiny, karma. Although the Moon usually represents a feminine principle in a wide variety of mythologies, in the Vedic, the Moon is a male deity with 27 wives (these will be the Naksatras). For the sake of completeness, we say that the Sun also plays an important role in jottish, so that the male-female, yang-jin principles prevail in it.

3. Possibility of several ascendants

Due to the prominent role of the Moon in the Indian system, not one but 3 ascendants serve the analysis:

– a karmic ascendant according to the Western principle (here Lagna),

The Moon (Csandra Lagna), which is an emotional or astral ascendant, and

– the ticket of the ascendant (Lagnesa) and its horoscopic place as the ascendant of physical events and realizations.

In addition, Indian astrologers use the mahadasha, i.e. the planetary lord of the current main period, as the starting point, and the 1st pad. (These will be discussed a little later.) Multiple ascendants allow us to approach any problem from multiple perspectives.

4. Ticket is equal house, different aspect system

In the Indian system, a ticket = a house. The planetary aspects are also about the whole ticket, that is, the whole house. It should also be mentioned here that in India, each planet acts according to its own unique pattern of aspects, not, or not only, the opposition, coexistence, trigon, square, etc. common in the West, according to the best astrologer in Ludhiana

5. Square horoscope figure

Astrology in North and South India is also square, although it uses a different horoscope figure that has often been sketched on a piece of napkin in India. Despite the simple visualization, the distance and friendship of the planets from each other and their own markings, the 360-degree very finely articulated naksatra system, and the myriad of complementary formulas provide an unheard-of detailed detail.

Related Posts